Apparently I am constitutional

When we were black,

We were in a permanent state of wrong,

Wrong colour, wrong place, wrong time, wrong language, wrong hair.

We were Dompasses, Bantustants, “nie blankes nie”

We were protest, uprisings, and petrol bombs

We were everything the law despised

Until it was enough.

Enough protests, enough uprisings, enough petrol bombs.

Then we were more

More than group areas, more than immorality acts

We were black and we could be.

Look at me now, suddenly on the right side of rights

I am constitutional, I am the bill of rights, I am equal before the law.

On paper I am all these things,

But actually,

I am just another black,

standing on the constitutional court steps

asking for a textbook.

Leave a Reply

