We’ve got schools to build, and I need money #Vuwani

I’ll get straight to the point, I’m asking you for money.

But it’s not for me.

A few weeks ago, we watched over 20 schools in Vuwani Limpopo being destroyed during protest action. Estimated damages were at 500 million and thousands of learners were forced to stay at home for over two weeks.

In this time the learners lost valuable teaching time that they will not get back, and will likely set them back as they prepare for their June exams.

The thing about these children, is that this was another odd stacked against them. Since 2011, thousands of kids in Limpopo have gone without textbooks due to shortages. For years these children have gone without proper sanitation or infrastructure. In essence, the system has always been against them.

In 2016, 22 years in deemocracy a whole generation of children are being subjected to an inferior education. Did we not have this conversation in 1976 Fam?

You’ve heard this before. We all have. So why are we here? Why are we here?

In the recent textbooks Judgment handed down at the supreme court of appeal, Judge Navsa J said: “Education must be seen as the key driver of economic transformation

For me, there are two words that resonate. Education and Economic.

It baffles me that people think that we can talk about an equitable, inclusive and prosperous economy without talking about quality basic education. Don’t tell me what the rand is doing if you can’t tell me where the money for textbooks is. Don’t tell me about Billion rand construction sites, if you can’t build schools.  because you are doing it wrong. Education is Economy.

So what am I asking?

That you do what you can, where you can.

If you can lay bricks, bring them. If  you have desks and chairs, bring them. If you have books, bring them. If you can make South Africa better- Do it.

More than anything else, I am asking you to care about the fact that thousands of poor, black marginalized children are  being denied an opportunity at upward social mobility.

Where would you be, if you never had the opportunity to go to school or someone to give  you a break, when opportunity was all you needed?

And while your thinking about that, take a moment to think about yourself and what you are doing to make this country work? It’s not enough to “feel bad” and to “wish you could do more”. In fact, it’s not about you:

It’s about Thabo Rasemana who doesn’t want any other child in Limpopo  to go through what he has been through.

It’s about Johannes Nkuna, who  told me that he is “fighting for my younger brothers and sisters because they are still coming,”

And if we are committed to building this country, there better be schools for the coming generations. And that job starts now, we have to start with Vuwani.

I’ll be honest. In my time as an activist or rather in my time as Nomatter Ndebele (I.e the rest of my life) I will turn to many of you for help because I can’t do it alone.  I can preach the gospel every day, I can go to Limpopo and bring you the stories, however there is only so much I can do. But together, WE can do so much  more, and it’s time to play your part.  Help rebuild #Vuwani.

And, I know that on most days, me and activism are an inconvenience. Its annoying to listen to me going on and on about education and the kids in Limpopo. But can you imagine how much more inconvenient it is to not be able to go to school. To not be able to get an education and to never be able to move you family, community or country forward?

So forgive me if I am impossibly persistent, and unreasonably expectant.  I’m terribly sorry for the inconvenience, it happens when you are trying to build a country.

If you want to get on the right of history-Please make a donation of any amount  to the #Vuwani fund

through this link: http://bit.ly/242Qs5E

If you would like to help through other means, drop me an email and lets make it happen.

Tag, you’re it.

 

burning

#Rebuild Vuwani: A school in Limpopo Vuwani on fire after community protests. Photo: SECTION27

 

 

Leave a Reply

