Vacancy: World changer/ Dreamer/ Blogger/ Nomatter Ndebele

Apparently I am not going to find a job because I am too fussy. 

 When I left High school I was afraid of two things: A bad maths paper and a bad Science paper. When I wrote that Paper 1 maths exam, I knew I had every right to be afraid. But still, in all other aspects of my life I remained resolute. With an unwavering will, to do more, and be more. 

On January 7th 2010, 4 distinctions later, the worst was over and I was still standing. All that was left was to go forth and conquer.
I was going to be a Journalist. More than that, I decided I was going to change the world. And then life happened. Enter Journalism school, AKA Question your existence level 1000. 

 If you think a Maths or a Science paper is the greatest evil. You don’t know Journalism school. Try being 10 months and a Portfolio away from everything you’ve ever wanted to be. Then being told in month 8 that you should probably be a social worker instead. So close. Shaken to the core. Yet still so close. And finally Graduation, the worst was over and I was still standing. And just like all other previous obstacles all that was left- was to go forth and conquer. 

So I went forth and a couple of forths down the line, it wasn’t what I thought it would be. On some days, this GPS is broken, it reroutes for eternity and I start to think that this “Conquer” place doesn’t actually exist. The only thing that keeps me going is the fact that, despite everything that’s happened and is happening. I am still what I thought I would be. You can wake me up at 2am and I will tell you without a doubt that I am going to change the world. This picture has been etched into the arteries of my heart since day one, and despite the ever changing sketches that the world requires of us, this one remains unchanged. No questions asked. As it is drawn, it shall be. 

 I’ve been unemployed for 39 days, which is a bit weird since there are vacancies everywhere. Everybody is looking for Journalists. And they exist, they are mass produced and injected into newsrooms every day. I know this because I am one of them. Need a breaking news article as in yesterday? I can do it. Need a new angle? I’ll make it happen. Need a contact? Here’s my phonebook. I can do it, it could do it all. 

But here’s the thing. I want to do more and be more.
Everybody is looking for Journalists, and I’m looking for someone who’s looking for Nomatter. See, I’m more than 9 to 5, more than good copy, more than JUST the front page story, all that’s been done. Over and over again. But,  I’m more than just today, I’m forever. I am more than just a quick edit; I’d rather change it completely, for the better. 

 Surely I am not the only person in this county,  who is willing to dedicate themselves to the idea of a South Africa we are all dreaming of, and a better world.
I’m not here to settle, I can do anything I put my mind to, I’ve put my mind to this, and I decided a long time ago that this ( World changing, dreaming, believing heart) is it. 

I’m prepared to work tirelessly to change people’s lives, to take the time to build a sustainable future for everyone. I want every little child who has ever drawn a “when I grow up I want to be” picture, to have the opportunity to actually become that picture. It isn’t a lot to ask, so I’ll keep asking because it’s going to happen.

 I’ve waited a lifetime, and although you haven’t realised it. You are probably waiting for me too.

2 thoughts on “Vacancy: World changer/ Dreamer/ Blogger/ Nomatter Ndebele

Leave a Reply

