A stranger stopped me in the street to sing for me

This afternoon while I was making my way home, a man sitting on the side of the road with a guitar asked me to stop for a moment because he wanted to sing a song for me. Being Journalist that I am, I asked if I could take a video. He agreed and then belted out into song and I stood there breath taken and in absolute awe.

The song he sang was about a man who was reassuring the love of his life Nomalanga that when the sun sets he would return to be home with her. He tells her not to cry, because he will come to her. Then he sings about how much he misses Nomalanga. It was such an incredible rendition, that I couldn’t help but smile the whole time.

When it was over, I stopped the Video, thanked him and told him how lovely he sang. He smiled and then said goodbye to me. He didn’t even tell me his name. He was content to share something so beautiful with me, with absolutely strings no attached.

I know my blog has been a little heavy lately, politics, untimely deaths and mistfortunes. But you know what, there’s so much more in this world than doom and gloom.

I know it’s really easy to get caught up in all the things that are wrong in this world, we often forget the little things that make us smile. When the moment happens, we don’t really take another moment to appreciate it, it’s almost as if it never happened. I wish we wouldn’t down play the way in which happiness happens.

There are beautiful things happening around us every day: People are falling in love every day, sharing intimate moments that will stay in their minds forever. People are achieving things, one of my former classmates Bhavani Bhatt has  graduated and is now a qualified pharmacist. I know this happens quite a lot, but the stories are never the same. Hers is a very special one, that  I’d like to share with you and the world. This is what Bhavani had on her face book status this afternoon:

“For as long as I can remember, my Dad emphasised the importance of an education and if he was going to give us anything, it would be that.. I started this journey 4 years ago hoping to make him proud one day by graduating and fulfilling his dream and even though he’s no longer here, this was always for him!! I wish he was here, today more than ever!! So glad I can finally say, I’m a qualified pharmacist!!! Thank you to my wonderful Mum n amazing sisters Deepal and Neethal for all the love and support, love you guys so so much!!”

I totally liked this status. Like is an understatemnt. When I came across this post, I felt something in my heart, Something so genuine and pure, it was as though I had met happiness for the first time. I’m waiting for face book to introduce double likes, and when that happens, I am going back to her status to double like it.

Today I feel like the world is not a bad place. There are so many beautiful souls, wandering around this earth just waiting to make someone’s day. And the best part is, they don’t expect anything in return.

Just the other day, I was ranting about how I would probably never find a coke bottle with my name on it. Two days,

"Matte, I found you"

“Matte, I found you”

later my friend Tumi  sent me a text with four simple words-  “Matte, I found you” then she sent me a photo of  herself with a coke bottle that said “Share a coke with Matt” and that made me so happy, what made me even happier was that she said she would keep the bottle for me.

People around us, are doing selfless acts of love every day, they are singing songs for strangers on the streets, they are walking people who are afraid to walk alone, they are praying for other people, more than they pray for themselves.

Yes, sometimes this life roller coaster spends a little too long in the dips, and in the words of Sam, you’ll feel like “rabbit poo”. It gets dark, we get lonely, we hurt, we cry, but the light at the end of the tunnel is always there and someone will come along just for you, and make it little a brighter.

So, Just for tonight forget the madness in this world  and think about all the crazies in this world who are waking up every day to be the reason for someone else’s smile.

For your tomorrow, I hope you will find someone who will sing a  song for you, I hope someone you love will achieve something that they can share with you, and I hope coke puts your name on a bottle. But more than that, I hope you will sing for someone, I hope you achieve something to share with someone else, and I hope you raid all the Coke fridges, to find someone else name. And as you all know, I believe in love and fairy tales, so this post would be incomplete if I didn’t say anything about love, Here goes: For your tomorrow, I hope you fall in love with someone who makes you question why you ever thought you would be better off alone.

2 thoughts on “A stranger stopped me in the street to sing for me

  1. Now this is what I enjoyed about your blog from the start! A little slice of happiness in my heart to start the day! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. greetings my fair friend and hobo who lost them chips, my name is general hope and i’m a seven
    star general of G.od’s army. your piece here I read and read again, love is so special and you are full of the hope I am all about. to open a sentence and give all your heart onto a page is a rare and beautiful THING. TODAY IS THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF MY ETERNITY AND I PRAY YOU ARE ON THE HOLY GHOST REVIVAL TRAIN WITH ME. I HAVE SIX CHILDREN AND 3 EX WIVES AND 5 GRANDBABIES FOR MY NEW WIFE MA AND WE ARE ENJOYING TOGETHERNESS AND GOD MADE US THIS WAY A SOULMATE SENT FROM HEAVEN ABOVE. TO PAY IT FORWARD IS AGREAT THANG BUT TO EVERYDAY GO INTO LIFE AS A PEACEMAKER IS A CHALLENGE BEYOND THOUGHT. I HAVE SEEN WARS AND DEATH AT MY DOOR AND HELD LIFE IN MY PRECIOUS HANDS.
    gJUST REMEMBER TODAY I HAVE BEEN TOUCHED BY AN ANGEL. THANK YOU AND MAY GOD SHINE HIS FACE UPON YOU AND GIVE YOU PEACE THIS DAY AND ALWAYS!

    gENERAL AND mA HOPE

Leave a Reply

