A little bit of heart, is what the world needs!

I love wholeheartedly, I think with my heart and I listen to it and I am probably where I am, because of this little heart of mine.

This week in the Newsroom, I refused to name a mentally unwell student in an article that I was doing for the campus paper.

In my heart, it didn’t feel right.

I couldn’t explain it, but I knew it wasn’t right. It just wasn’t something I wanted to do.

But. My say wasn’t the right say. (Apparently)

The student was named and thousands of copies of that article were printed with MY by line on it.

This has possibly been the LOWEST moment in my Journalism career ever.

This is a shit place to be, and I swear that I will never be here again.

I was forced to comprise my principals and put my Moral obligation aside because “they” said my decision was wrong and that my argument wasn’t solid enough.

It wasn’t fair, It wasn’t their call to make, but they did it anyway.

Abraham Lincoln once said “The probability that we may fail in the struggle ought not to deter us from the support of a cause we believe to be just”.

So while I may have lost this battle, I know that I will fight it again and again, only next time, I’ll fight that much harder, and I will win.

Because this compromise, this little By line moment of shine, was not worth it.

One of the girls in my class told me that “I should just go and be a social worker”

You know what? I would make an amazing social worker, but I chose to be Journalist. So guess what? You are stuck with me. Me and my heart.

So this is my little pick me up poem, when the people of world come at me.When I start to feel like maybe I deserve the blows, I must remember that the world is a fucked up place with a lot of fucked people and “social workers” like me, are actually what the world needs.

And you sferbs, can thank me later!

Anyway…

People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway.

Mother Theresa: Anyway.

Leave a Reply

