How to save the world. (When you are not chuck Norris)

Zak: “What’s your passion matte? Where does your heart lie?”

Me: “The arts and as dumb as this may sound, changing the world”

Yes. I’m twenty years and I want to change the world. I want to go into Africa (Cause you know the Americans done think I’m there yet)  run into the jungle find Joseph kony, free all the Child soldiers and give them an ice cream. I want to Ninja tactic my way into Robert Mugabe’s office, slap him on the forehead and tell him he’s a cake. I wanna go to the Eastern Cape and Build schools for all the children learning under tree’s, I Wanna… change the world.

And No. I don’t have a plan, I don’t where Robert Mugabe’s office is, I’m afraid Joseph Kony will take me too, and the thought of all that cement drying out my beautifully moisturized skin, gives me Nightmares. But here’s the thing, if I don’t do something, who will?

I’m afraid of a lot things, I don’t know my left and right, I am nothing without my blackberry, I can’t walk quietly and I have no Upper arm strength, so basically, I am in no position to save the world.

But here’s the difference between me and all the other earthlings of this world, I can’t imagine not having tried to make a difference. While everybody else is content to live in their suburban homes, “ballin”and spitting ultra Mel at one another, I’d never be content with that.

This is going to sound really stupid, but I think I’m our generations mother Theresa… (With a little more swagg) and I do believe, that I am the chosen the one. At any given moment, I would give it all up, to go out into the world and make a difference where I can. Only problem is, they don’t offer this degree in school, even in the HUMANITIES faculty.

What’s the point? My uncle always tells me that u cannot come into this world: to be born, to eat and then die. You may as well not have been born. And that’s what I’m afraid of. What happens when I wake up one morning, 20 years from now and think? “Is this really it” it probably will be it’ll will have lost, all my fiery passions, and my only “yay” moments will come when it’s my turn to host the book club (God Forbid) I will probably also have raised materialistic children who will think poverty is a person and only know the effects of war from a play station Game. (No, I don’t have much faith in the future generations)

 “You know what your problem is matte? You can do everything”

I am a Restless little soul, I am always imagining, dreaming, creating, being, going.  Unfortunately the world doesn’t make provisions for my type, It’s apparently forbidden to give up Extra maths for Netball, You can’t just go to Grahamstown for a week to just Act! You can’t put on a play with 23 characters… blah blah blah fish paste.Fortunately for me, I’ve got a couple of Houdini tricks up my sleeve, Now you see me, now you don’t. When I’ve had it, I let go. Your probably thinking that isn’t a very good trait for someone who wants to save the world…

But how would you know? You don’t want to save the world.

 I know You’re reading this thinking, this girl is crazy.

Maybe I am, but you know what they say, there is a pleasure in being mad, that only mad men know of.

So when the time comes, for it will. Remember this blog, say a couple of Hail Mary’s for me, and make a poster for me to see at the airport when I come home.

And if I don’t come home, you must all know that I died saving the world, and for me, there is nothing more Noble!!

“I think that people who Love Arts, as well as those who teach the arts, burn with the obligation to save the world”

Shinichi Suzuki

(…and I think you! Dude with the name I cannot pronounce, are faaaking amazing)

2 thoughts on “How to save the world. (When you are not chuck Norris)

  1. I think what you said made a bunch of sense.
    However, what about this? what if you composed a catchier title?
    I ain’t saying your information is not good, but what if you added a post title that makes people desire more?
    I mean How to save the world. (When you are not chuck Norris) |
    a little piece of nomatter ndebele is kinda vanilla. You could
    glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create post titles
    to grab viewers to open the links. You might try adding a video or a related pic or two to grab readers
    excited about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

